Suits, Photography & Church

The title already tells a lot, but I think I can talk about much more that happened during the last days. First of all I finally go the chance to where my suit here in Singapore. So far I did not need it but on Wednesday our professor for Purchasing & Materials Management organized a Procurement Roundtable and therefore invited several Purchasing heads from different local and international companies. Among the big ones were for example P&G and Johnson & Johnson. The discussed about what skills are required to succeed in the Procurement department today. They all agreed that it is no longer much about the standard analytical skills as those only prepare the mandatory basis. What makes you a successful purchaser nowadays is your ability to listen, understand and change the game. This means that interpersonal skills differentiate you from other applicants.It was a great discussion and we asked several questions before all of us had lunch together. Together with Marc (The Asian procurement head of Johnson & Johnson) and our professor Philipp, Konstantin, Lara and me talked about the future of purchasing and how it is affected by IT developments. We enjoyed our conversation. At the very end we could ultimately take our great pictures in front of the NUS Business School.

Today I went to Photography workshop organized by the residence assistants of UTown. They had organized a trainer from Canon who taught us the basic techniques in Photography when using a DSLR or Compact camera. I can now say that I am able to understand at least all the different values you can adjust on a camera. Nevertheless I still need a lot of practice to take great ones myself. But I hope to take better pictures in the future. After the workshop I met with Julia and Guan Yu for lunch at a Korean restaurant in UTown. I haven't been there so far but enjoyed the food there a lot. It was the best Korean Cuisine I have had till that point. We then met Konstantin and went to town to shop for shoes for him and some other stuff. It only took around half an hour since we had additional plans for the late afternoon. Julia had invited me to join Guan Yu and her for Church and therefore Konstantin and me attended the service at St.John's - St. Margaret's Church tonight. It is an Anglican Christian community. Konstantin and me are both Catholic, but it was great to experience how service is performed in a different way. Of course it was completely in English, but it also differed in the way they sing and the way they pray. It is also quite confusing to be asked to take bread and wine for communion. Talking about the differences would take too long, but I can conclude that is different and great way to perform service. And overall it is definitely a unique experience. All together, it was a cool day today!